JUDGING OUR OWN WORK

Posted the changes last night that early readers sent. Today have more from another reader. None are the same mistakes!

For over twenty years, we used to sponsor a regional writer’s contest through Cookeville Creative Writers’ Association. I remember the poetry contest was always the hardest for the judges to pick a winner. We had three judges per Category, and I asked each to list their top ten favorites in order. Three winners, three honorable mentions, and if there were enough entries we would have a few ‘also notable’ awards. One year, each of the three judges chose ten poems that were different from each other.

So we met, the three judges sat, read the top three poems they’d picked and argued for their merits. It wasn’t the 2016 election, but almost as loud and passionate. It did teach me an important lesson about writing. What we like is subjective, what we see as an error or awkward, may read like a poetic line to another reader. It has given me the confidence to become an Indi-published author.

I’m not a perfectionist but am pernickety. Still, I’m always amazed that what I’ve spent weeks editing still has so many errors. If I run it through Grammarly, it may have me take out a comma and Paperrater or Hemingway may insist I put it back in. Now I just smile and make the changes, grateful that I have a chance to get it right. Love you, readers.

RATE OF WRITING

howlong_rev

Wanting to write faster. Feel like an old hand with the Nanowrimo contest, having done it a number of times, and finished the 50,000 words in a month all but one time. But I joined a group on Facebook where the members keep themselves busier by posting their word count each day. When one writer announced she wrote 22 books last year, and three others announced their goal was twelve new books this year, I kind of faded away. There have to be some benefits to retirement. Not turning my writing into a real job and a chore seems to be one of them. If I can get four books this year like last, I will try to be happy. From the chart above, I feel better knowing that I’m not the slowest, even if I’m nowhere near the fast crowd.

A FEW TERRIFIC QUOTES

At the last meeting, I reminded some of our beginning writers that if you can stop writing, you should. It can be a terrible taskmaster. But I’m afraid I’ve become addicted to it and as Hemingway says, ‘only death can stop it.’ Every article I read before retweeting, every book, every film or news broadcast, all spark ideas in my mind and then I have no peace until I arrange things to make a story that satisfies me.

I felt happy to see this brilliant image of an Oscar Wilde quote. Certainly, have a buzzy brain and if I ever get it trained, hope it will misbehave in a most entertaining way.

Happy writing.

 

Leave a Reply

