WRITER’S TOOLS

 

th4k2383cr

Trying to finish the structural or content edit on the new book. Hope to finish tonight or after swimming in the morning. That is, if it doesn’t snow. One of the beautiful and frustrating things about living in Tennessee is how even a light snow can cause many places to close, not just the schools. Most of those in our part of the state closed before noon, just on the announcement that it might be snowing at the normal end of the school day. There have been too many bus accidents recently for anyone to want to risk it. Of course, we only had a few flurries, nothing to stick on the roads, yet.

Tools

Yesterday, I talked about novel outlining and using screenwriting beat sheets. Next to writing, I think I love Pinterest the best. One reason is I don’t have to have as many stacks of writing books at hand, or copies of outlines and notes. Pinterest is just a nice filing cabinet in the sky, or a book with unlimited pages. It relies on images, often from Instagram (a site I haven’t adopted yet), that provide quick, instant summaries of things like this illustration of basic story structure by Kurt Vonnegut.

09155a6ee4b122ee3aee29c7f9c33af1

If I find a good article or a useful graphic, I pin it on one of my Pinterest boards and I can instantly access it from anywhere. We were discussing story structure at the Foxleaf Writer’s meeting today, how some things are taboo, and why. What are the key elements of a mystery novel, etc. (Pat Gentry has just finished a lovely little mystery, Lizzie Shanks, about a nosy neighbor, and I wrote one last fall, No Visible Tattoos, about a woman Sheriff trying to solve the murder of her husband in a secretive, small town. If you want to know the rules for a specific genre, there is an article or video about how to write that type of story somewhere on the internet now. You just have to google it. But when you come across something valuable, I suggest you join Pinterest and add it to your page.

Another tool that I adore is Pixabay. All the images on it are free, and I think beautiful. Most of what appears in this blog have come from that site. Others are from Creative Commons licensed images from the Library of Congress or Bing images (sorted by clicking on license (free to modify, share, and use commercially.) Then I tinker with them on Canva or Picmonkey, if I want to post them on Twitter. 4c46d3b25ce82499d7fff0c7ec8628fa

All I know, I love to share, but I need to get busy on my edits. No puzzling today, but was captured by Webinars full of promises. All offer programs, software, support, script evaluations, etc., all at a nominal cost. Lacking that nominal $99 or $999 that each usually requires, I’m afraid I will stick to the free. Although one site promised all the tools to help you create your character and plot in minutes, using a simple plug in method, all for only twenty-seven dollars. I must admit, I was a little tempted.

Yet, doing that, I would miss all the joy of slipping into a secret space with new people to meet and a new world to explore. After all, it’s the research and dreaming that make me happy.

Visit my Pinterest and take anything you find useful. I keep a board called Amwriting, to post images for the current or next story. And, there are spots for my miscellaneous hoarding that I seem to need–at least, all safely stored in the cloud not in my house. https://www.pinterest.com/bieryj/

 

 

Leave a Reply

