ASK ME ANYTHING DAY

Ask the Teacher

I’m retired now, but I used to tell my students to ask me anything that they were having trouble understanding, or needed to know, before the test. Got a lot of nice silence in the classroom that way on review day. Of course I had no answers on test day.

Our suggested blog today, was the AMA day. I can’t promise to have all the answers, but if I know the answer or can make one up, I’ll be happy to answer all the questions you ask.

Curated Content

This is legal stealing. Since I’m sitting primed for your questions, it spares me writing a lot of new material. I’ll share my two favorite articles from my email today.

Great Script

There’s a new version of Ghostbusters coming out, one where they’ve reversed all the genders to give it an interesting reboot. Love the original movie so much, think I’ll pass. Didn’t even enjoy the first sequels. To me, it is one of the most perfect films ever made. Went with my children when they were the right age, not as little as the Star Wars Series we loved, but old enough to get all the humor and laugh as much as me.

This article in The Hollywood Reporter by the director Ivan Reitman is one of the best behind-the-scenes articles I’ve ever read. If you’re a fan of the movie, read http://bit.ly/29BeaoS

Remedies

MED_Humor-Doctor.jpg

The second piece is a wonderful list article by J.E.S. Hays from July’s Western Fictioneers. Growing up, my mother believed in eating the right foods and drinking teas at certain times of the year. It was usually eating some nasty food we hated like poke, wilted dandelions, liver and onions, or scrambled eggs and hog brains. Most of her tonics came from boiling bark or herbs (weeds she picked on the way to the garden), to get rid of our winter blahs, thin our blood, or destroy that season’s germs.

Really enjoyed reading these more commercial remedies and speculating about the diseases they cured or caused. http://westernfictioneers.blogspot.com/2016/07/time-for-tonic.html

 

 

Leave a Reply

