Writing Every Day

Successful writers write every day.

Really, I wish I had been writing. But then I wouldn’t have enjoyed three days goofing off with my daughter. So, no, I don’t write every day. Nor, do I blog every day. I only went to the Y two mornings this week. Plan to go tomorrow and Friday. So, no, I don’t exercise every day either.

When we were shopping for German foods to nibble on, I remembered my first little heroine Hattie, who made her own sausage and sauerkraut. I’d like to revisit Star, Texas and see how she and Jackson and the children are doing, maybe write a romance for one of the cowboys who sat at the dinner table with them.

We talked (argued) politics, and I kept thinking of how passionate about women’s rights Bonnie was in Valley of Shadows. Then I imagined Meara and Mary Anne, two of the little girls in my last two novels, going off to Teacher’s college together and becoming little suffragettes in Boston. After all, the west was far more liberal, and women had the vote in Wyoming.

Writing requires more than meeting the word count and churning out pages. Even when we were trying to finish the last of the 1000 pieces of the big jigsaw puzzle, I was letting the events in my story world intrude. Alma Mae makes her own soap in the story I’m working on. Since my daughter makes soap, I thought she would be a good resource to use for the details. My daughter’s materials and process are too different. At least we finished the puzzle and the Birthday cake before she left.

Tonight I am sitting here, four days of email, tweets, and Facebook posts finally caught up. My oldest sister has a second great-grandson from her granddaughter, Alexandria. Another granddaughter, Caitlyn, wrote an article on German Unification for the Georgetown Voice. Thrilled for her. And a lot of people who want me to buy a lot of things, are going to be disappointed.

Time to write on my novel. Instead, I’m finishing this blog post so I’m not as far behind on the challenge, the one I shouldn’t have taken up again. Why blogging instead of writing? Because it is harder to write when you don’t do it every day. Thinking about the story is important, but a novel gets written by sitting down, typing the words, actually thinking and composing the sentences that tell the tale. Word after word and day after day. Anything else is just goofing off. (Which I admit, I do more than I should.)

Here is a nice article I found while sifting through all 360 emails and webinar messages. Hope you writers find it useful.

Writing Fiction: 6 Lessons I Learned From Freelance Writing http://writetodone.com/writing-fiction-2/ via @WritetoDone

Leave a Reply

