Book Reviews and Banned Books

Wondering about reviews and the rest of the things that go with marketing a book. So far, the reviews have been great for Bright Morning Star and all the titles in my Western Wives Series.  Dear fans have even given my odder new books kind reviews. You can take a look at them at Author.to/jrbiery.  I’m grateful for every review and every reader. Everyone didn’t love every one of them, but I’m grateful that they read them and cared enough to leave a review.

At the moment, all that matters is that I am falling in love with the characters and settings in my newest book, working title Mountain Bride. The hero is a Melungeon, Bridger Bowlin, and the heroine is Alma Mae Foust, an old maid. Melungeons were described as a dark-skinned Caucasian group who were already settled in the Appalachian mountains when the first pioneers arrived in the region. Have first eleven thousand words written and starting to feel the flow. I’ll try to share more in the next post.

As a writer, I have to wonder what makes people review a book, or even buy a book these days. There are 54,000 to 60,000 new titles appearing on Kindle every month now. These are added to the over seven million books already there. I reach my reading limit just in reading book blurbs and sample chapters. (It doesn’t take a lot to put me to sleep these days.)

Then there is the competition of movies and television. I love movies, rent one or two a week. The new Cinderella was a miss for me, although the dress was gorgeous. Little Boy was a winner — a lovely, moving story set in WWII with big themes, great pathos, and character changes for most of the cast.  On the small screen, there are 104 + channels on cable, and the binge watching addiction of watching complete television series through Netflicks and Amazon Prime (have two sisters who do this).  I mainly watch reality (if you can call them real) television like Property Brothers, Dancing with the Stars, and Project Runway, and great old movies. Oh, and lots of sports with my husband. Jordan Spieth, the 22 year old who won 22 million this year by hitting a little white ball, well his winning game Sunday was inspiring.

It is a lot of competition. I know one thing that propels a book to the best-seller list is to be banned. Since this is banned book week, thought you might enjoy the list of the top banned book. If this works right, you can slide on the title to see where and when it was banned. I found it interesting.

http://www.aclu.org/infographic/infographic-banned-books-week

If you have any suggestions on how to get one of my titles banned, I would love to hear from you. In the meantime, happy reading.

One thought on “Book Reviews and Banned Books”

Leave a Reply

