Rewriting a Screenplay as a Novel by J.R.Biery

'Blog Post 5
Rewriting a Screenplay as a Novel
Working on new story - actually converting a screenplay into a short novel. Should be easy since I know the characters, the setting, and have the dialogue and action worked out.

Brother is it hard. They are such different mediums. A screenplay is like a recipe for a cake. It takes a village to take the recipe and turn it into a movie. You basically tell the village what the audience will see. You describe what action will occur. You list the character's name and their dialogue. All in an objective way. They then take the recipe and make a pie or cupcake, but all those changes make it  a movie.
It's a naked, quick, great way to outline and plot out your novel to make sure you have a complete and satisfying story.

But a story or novel is subjective. You are in the point of view of a character's mind, sharing their feelings, their observations of what we see and what is going on. You even indicate their emotional reactions by how they move, stand, react. Then there are their words, and more thoughts as they hear someone else's words and react to those.

It feels like I have the framework for a paper mache figure and now I'm adding the sticky layers of goopy paper and smoothing them out to form the actual body. I guess editing afterward could be compared to adding all the color and paint to make it more realistic.

I've been here before. Rewrote a script as a novel, Will Henry. Still think of things I can add to Will's story but have been too busy to revisit it. Did an even weirder script of mine, Chimera Pass, in book form.

It will take time and hard work, but I'm in Camp Nanowrimo again so I needed a good project. Today I wrote 3889 words, two short chapters,  by  working on it all day. I have the rest of the month to finish it. But I'm editing another project, and trying to learn to blog.

It's always good to have goals.
Show less'
'Blog Post 5
Rewriting a Screenplay as a Novel
Working on new story - actually converting a screenplay into a short novel. Should be easy since I know the characters, the setting, and have the dialogue and action worked out.

Brother is it hard. They are such different mediums. A screenplay is like a recipe for a cake. It takes a village to take the recipe and turn it into a movie. You basically tell the village what the audience will see. You describe what action will occur. You list the character's name and their dialogue. All in an objective way. They then take the recipe and make a pie or cupcake, but all those changes make it  a movie.
It's a naked, quick, great way to outline and plot out your novel to make sure you have a complete and satisfying story.

But a story or novel is subjective. You are in the point of view of a character's mind, sharing their feelings, their observations of what we see and what is going on. You even indicate their emotional reactions by how they move, stand, react. Then there are their words, and more thoughts as they hear someone else's words and react to those.

It feels like I have the framework for a paper mache figure and now I'm adding the sticky layers of goopy paper and smoothing them out to form the actual body. I guess editing afterward could be compared to adding all the color and paint to make it more realistic.

I've been here before. Rewrote a script as a novel, Will Henry. Still think of things I can add to Will's story but have been too busy to revisit it. Did an even weirder script of mine, Chimera Pass, in book form.

It will take time and hard work, but I'm in Camp Nanowrimo again so I needed a good project. Today I wrote 3889 words, two short chapters,  by  working on it all day. I have the rest of the month to finish it. But I'm editing another project, and trying to learn to blog.

It's always good to have goals.
Show less'
Blog Post 5
Rewriting a Screenplay as a Novel
Working on new story – actually converting a screenplay into a short novel. Should be easy since I know the characters, the setting, and have the dialogue and action worked out.

Brother is it hard. They are such different mediums. A screenplay is like a recipe for a cake. It takes a village to take the recipe and turn it into a movie. You basically tell the village what the audience will see. You describe what action will occur. You list the character’s name and their dialogue. All in an objective way. They then take the recipe and make a pie or cupcake, but all those changes make it a movie.


It’s a naked, quick, great way to outline and plot out your novel to make sure you have a complete and satisfying story.

But a story or novel is subjective. You are in the point of view of a character’s mind, sharing their feelings, their observations of what we see and what is going on. You even indicate their emotional reactions by how they move, stand, react. Then there are their words, and more thoughts as they hear someone else’s words and react to those.

It feels like I have the framework for a paper mache figure and now I’m adding the sticky layers of goopy paper and smoothing them out to form the actual body. I guess editing afterward could be compared to adding all the color and paint to make it more realistic.

I’ve been here before. Rewrote a script as a novel, Will Henry. Still think of things I can add to Will’s story but have been too busy to revisit it. Did an even weirder script of mine, Chimera Pass, in book form.

It will take time and hard work, but I’m in Camp Nanowrimo again so I needed a good project. Today I wrote 3889 words, two short chapters, by working on it all day. I have the rest of the month to finish it. But I’m editing another project, and trying to learn to blog.

It’s always good to have goals.
Show less

One thought on “Rewriting a Screenplay as a Novel by J.R.Biery”

Leave a Reply

